Posts

Showing posts from 2026

Tell Me You're Old, Without Telling Me You're Old.

The other morning was a true example of my brain can be so  ADD sometimes. I started to do the usual routine of opening the curtains/blinds and junk like that.  I have 6 total windows that I either pull curtains open or flip the blinds.  I did 1.5 windows and then thought “Oh!  I should go to the bathroom.”  So I headed to the bathroom and thought “oh- wait- it’s cold I should start my car- so it can warm up and the windshield will be defrosted.”  sooooo I started my car.  And was like “Oh- I never finished opening the windows!”  I did 1 more window and then went to the bathroom- where I panicked because I didn't remember starting my car- so I had to look out the window and see if my car headlights were on (they were), then I opened 2 more windows and was like, “Oh gosh! I better get my school bag so I don’t forget that!!!!”  So I got my school bag.  Then I finished opening the windows.  Do I have ADD? No. You know another...

Grinding My Gears

I recently heard this phrase- and it really amuses me.  What does it mean?  It's means something's bugging you, irritating you, causing you frustration, somewhat annoying.  It's grinding your gears.  You know what has really been "grinding my gears lately????"  Here are a couple of super random things:  1. We're doing a walking competition at school- with any teacher that wants to participate.  I am participating.  The app we're using to calculate our distance "grinds my gears."  It does more than grinds my gears- frankly it infuriates me!  Initially we were told it would synch with our smart watches.  It does not.  I was so pumped because last weekend I worked like a maniac in the yard and KNEW I was going to have a crapton of steps.  Guess what?!  I HAD NONE!!!!  My watch did, in fact, NOT synch with the dang app.  How disappointing.  Then Doug and I went for a walk.  He was calculating 4 tenths ...

Time Just Flew By

Image
 Well so much for being on a blogging roll.  I was consistent for about a month, and then I fall off for a month.  While I wouldn't say I was busy in January- I did have stuff I was doing.  It's been a pleasant mix of grown people things, trying to get some consistency with healthy habits, and fun.   1. Grown People Things:  I cleaned out a bunch of old bills, and I started a notebook with important information in case something happens to myself or Doug.  Things in the notebook: the contact info for our finance guy, login information to different accounts/bills/bank, copies of: birth certificates, marriage certificate, social security cards.  This whole notebook thing started because my mom has been organizing all their stuff- in case something happens to them.  At first, I was like, "Mom!!! For Pete's Sake!!! I don't want to hear about it!"  But then . . . if something happens to Doug, I have no idea how to pay most of our bills. ...

I Hope I'm Getting Smarter

I have been doing several sewing crafts over break.  Honestly- I had almost cleaned out a good majority of my craft supplies- thinking I was done with that activity. I hadn't sewn- as part of a craft in years.  I'm not sure why I stopped.  Then one day about 2 months ago I saw a Reel that led me to more Reels and then I just decided to get the old sewing machine back out and try a few projects.  I have also been trying some hand embroidery.   I am sick and tired of Doom Scrolling through social media.  Seriously.  When I was young- Nintendo came out.  My mother declared we could not have one in our house.  She thought it was going to brainwash us- and make us stupid. I thought she was ridiculous for years.  Now I realize she was ahead of her time- and right.  Because I didn't want to sit on my couch, doom scrolling all break- I started sewing. Something that is nice about being a crafter is that- I have random supplies around. ...

What's the Goal?

The closer I get to 50 (in 3 months)- the more I am thinking about the habits I have and if I do them because I actually like them or if I do them because I am supposed  to do them.    I went swimming yesterday morning.  Somedays when I start swimming, I feel this sense of urgency to swim as fast as I can. I have this compulsion to swim fast because that's what I am supposed to do, right?  I will burn calories and hit my target heart range, and then so I can hurry up and get home.  Today I decided, "Why rush?  To go home and vacuum?  I might as well take my time."   While I swam, I thought about why I don't slow down and take my time more often.  Today's swim was lovely.  My swim boyfriend one time said, "It perfectly acceptable to have a slow pace, and swim for a longer period of time. You'll still burn calories." Except, aren't I supposed to be aiming for peak heart rate?  I mean . . .  that's what they say....